Transcendence explores memory, loss, sentimentality and vulnerability. It investigates the act of ‘moving on’ taken from Buddhist thought. The four videos explore the four stages of grief: crying, suffering, letting go and moving on. Poon is interested in the concept of the spiritual journey - the healing process that goes beyond the experience of loss. The number four has special significance given its association in Western culture with cycles, stability and positivity. A square has four sides. There are four seasons in the annual cycle of growth. The number four is a Biblical symbol of completion.



Aki Poon


Created: 2016
Bought by Oxford Brookes: 2016


Giclee prints and video


OBSA0015, OBSA0016, OBSA0017, OBSA0018, OBSA0019, OBSA0020, OBSA0021

Location of physical artwork

Three giclee prints: Headington Campus. John Henry Brookes Building. First Floor (opposite Executive Suite). Films: currently in storage but will be available online soon.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License

Links to resources


  • Owner: Bulk Uploader2
  • Collection: OBSA
  • Version: 1 (show all)
  • Status: Live